Contact Legislators in Support of HB429– Respect Rape Victims Who Don’t Physically Resist

Support HB429 to Modernize Maryland’s Rape Law

House Judiciary Committee Hearing 2/21

Call the House Judiciary Committee with Your Support

Sexual assault victims should not be expected to physically fight off a rapist in order to obtain justice.  The current sexual assault statutes in Maryland require prosecutors to prove that a rapist used “force” or “threat of force”.  This proof of force depends on whether the victim physically resisted an attack.  This year, lead sponsors Delegate Kathleen Dumais and Senator Delores Kelley introduced legislation in the Maryland General Assembly that modernizes Maryland’s sexual assault statutes that would clarify that rape victims should never be required to physically resist sexual assault.

The House version of the bill, HB429, is slated for a hearing in the House Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 1:0o pm. Please contact committee members with the message that they should SUPPORT HB429.

It is well past time to update this law.  Victims should not be expected to physically fight off a rapist, and our criminal law should recognize that no means no.  Del. Dumais explained the bill:  “It is unconscionable that our rape law places women in the position of choosing between physically resisting and getting hurt, or not resisting and losing access to justice.”

ABC2 published this news account explaining the bill.

A recent piece in the Baltimore Sun highlights the importance of bringing Maryland’s rape law into the 21stcentury. It calls attention to how Maryland’s current sexual assault statutes influence the issues surrounding the investigation and prosecution of sexual assault cases.

Please call the members of the House Judiciary Committee and urge them to SUPPORT RAPE VICTIMS- SUPPORT HB429.  Contact information is below. 

To learn more about MCASA’s 2017 legislative agenda and how you can help, visit http://www.mcasa.org/law-public-policy/legislative-agenda/.

Thank you for your activism and support for sexual assault survivors. We must continue to speak up and speak out.

Lisae

Lisae C. Jordan
Executive Director and Counsel

MARYLAND HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE PHONE AND EMAILS:

Leadership

Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. (D-23B) – Chair
Phone: (410) 841-3488
Email: joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

Kathleen M. Dumais, Vice Chair (D-15)
Phone: (410) 841-3052 | (301) 858-3052
E-mail: kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

Anne Arundel County

Michael E. Malone (R-33)
Phone: (410) 841-3510 | (301) 858-3510
E-mail: michael.malone@house.state.md.us

Baltimore City

Frank M. Conaway, Jr. (D-40)
(410) 841-3189 | (301) 858-3189
E-mail: frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

Curtis Stovall (Curt) Anderson (D-43)
Phone: (410) 841-3291 | (301) 858-3291
E-mail: curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

Baltimore County

Charles E. Sydnor III (D-44B)
Phone: (410) 841-3802 | (301) 858-3802
E-mail: charles.sydnor@house.state.md.us

Joseph C. (Joe) Cluster, (R-8)
Phone: (410) 841-3526 | (301) 858-3526
E-mail: joe.cluster@house.state.md.us

Dan K. Morhaim, M.D. (D-11)
Phone: (410) 841-3054 | (301) 858-3054
E-mail: dan.morhaim@house.state.md.us

Charles & Prince George’s Counties

Elizabeth G. (Susie) Proctor (D-27A)
Phone: (410) 841-3083 | (301) 858-3083
E-mail: susie.proctor@house.state.md.us

Carroll & Howard Counties

Trent M. Kittleman (R-9A)
Phone: (410) 841-3556 | (301) 858-3556
E-mail: trent.kittleman@house.state.md.us

Harford County

Glen Glass (R-34A)
Phone: (410) 841-3280 | (301) 858-3280
E-mail: glen.glass@house.state.md.us

Susan K. McComas (R-34B)
Phone: (410) 841-3272 | (301) 858-3272
E-mail: susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

Howard County

Vanessa E. Atterbeary (D-13)
Phone: (410) 841-3471 | (301) 858-3471
E-mail: vanessa.atterbeary@house.state.md.us

Montgomery County

David Moon (D-20)
Phone: (410) 841-3474 | (301) 858-3474
E-mail: david.moon@house.state.md.us

Pamela E. Queen (D-14)
Phone:(410) 841-3380 | (301) 858-3380
E-mail: pam.queen@senate.state.md.us

Prince George’s County

Jazz Lewis (D-24)
Phone: (410) 841-3691 | (301) 858-3691
Email: jazz.lewis@house.state.md.us

Carlo Sanchez (D-47B)
Phone: (410) 841-3340 | (301) 858-3340
E-mail: carlo.sanchez@house.state.md.us

St. Mary’s County

Deborah C. Rey (R-29B)
Phone: (410) 841-3227 | (301) 858-3227
E-mail: deborah.rey@house.state.md.us

Washington County

Neil C. Parrott (R-2A)
Phone: (410) 841-3636 | (301) 858-3636
E-mail: neil.parrott@house.state.md.us

Brett R. Wilson (R-2B)
Phone: (410) 841-3125 | (301) 858-3125
E-mail: brett.wilson@house.state.md.us

Escape