Contact Legislators in Support of SB217 – Respect Rape Victims Who Don’t Physically Resist

Contact Your Legislators:

SUPPORT SB217 – Modernize Maryland’s Rape Law

Sexual Assault Victims Should Never Be Required to Physically Resist a Sexual Assault

Sexual assault victims should never be required to physically resist a rapist in order to obtain a conviction.  This year, lead sponsors Delegate Kathleen Dumais and Senator Delores Kelley introduced legislation in the Maryland General Assembly that modernizes Maryland’s sexual assault statutes by making it clear that rape victims are never required to physically resist sexual assault.

The Senate version of the bill, SB217, is slated for a hearing in the Judicial Proceedings Committee onWednesday, February 8, 2017 at 1:00 pm. Please contact committee members with the message that they should SUPPORT SB217.

It is well past time to update this law.  Victims should not be expected to physically fight off a rapist, and our criminal law should recognize that no means no.  Del. Dumais explained the bill:  “It is unconscionable that our rape law places women in the position of choosing between physically resisting and getting hurt, or not resisting and losing access to justice.”

ABC2 published this news account explaining the bill.

Please call the members of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee and urge them to SUPPORT RAPE VICTIMS- SUPPORT SB217.  Contact information is below. 

To learn more about MCASA’s 2017 legislative agenda and how you can help, visithttp://www.mcasa.org/law-public-policy/legislative-agenda/.

Thank you for your activism and support for sexual assault survivors. We must continue to speak up and speak out.

Lisae

Lisae C. Jordan
Executive Director and Counsel

MARYLAND SENATE JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS COMMITTEE PHONE AND EMAILS:

Baltimore County

Robert A. (Bobby) Zirkin, Chair (D-11)
Phone: (410) 841-3131 | (301) 858-3131
E-mail: bobby.zirkin@senate.state.md.us

James Brochin (D-42)
Phone: (410) 841-3648 | (301) 858-3648
E-mail: jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

Delores G. Kelley, Vice Chair (D-10)
Phone: (410) 841-3606 | (301) 858-3606
E-mail: delores.kelley@senate.state.md.us

Carroll County

Justin D. Ready (R-5)
Phone: (410) 841-3683 | (301) 858-3683
E-mail: justin.ready@senate.state.md.us

Carroll & Frederick Counties

Michael J. Hough (R-4)
Phone: (410) 841-3704 | (301) 858-3704
E-mail: michael.hough@senate.state.md.us

Cecil & Harford Counties

Wayne Norman (R-35)
Phone: (410) 841-3603 | (301) 858-3603
E-mail: wayne.norman@senate.state.md.us

Harford County

Robert G. Cassilly (R-34)
Phone: (410) 841-3158 | (301) 858-3158
E-mail: bob.cassilly@senate.state.md.us

Montgomery County

Susan C. Lee (D-16)
Phone: (410) 841-3124 | (301) 858-3124
E-mail: susan.lee@senate.state.md.us

William C. (Will) Smith, Jr. (D-20)
Phone: (410) 841-3634 | (301) 858-3634
E-mail: will.smith@senate.state.md.us

Prince George’s County

C. Anthony Muse (D-26)
Phone: (410) 841-3092 | (301) 858-3092
E -mail: anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us

Victor R. Ramirez (D-47)
Phone: (410) 841-3745 | (301) 858-3745
E-mail: victor.ramirez@senate.state.md.us

Escape